aanraders, boeken, bookish talk, recensies

Netgalley Review: Elusive (Scarlet Revolution #2) – Genevieve Cogman

Most of the books of the Forbidden Library series are still waiting patiently on the shelves to be read, but when I discovered this series, about the French Revolution, but with vampires, I was sold. I got the first book and finished it far quicker than I had expected and then I patiently waited for the second book to be released. Luckily I discovered that the book was available via Netgalley and I was really happy that Tor granted me a review copy.

Once more this book mixes history, vampires and a touch of magic. I especially love how the author manages to make this book really believable. It’s not hard to imagine that the French revolution happened like this. Especially all the politics, the way the people in power manipulate others and all the games that are played, is so well done and makes so much sense. The vampires might be fictional, but how they abuse their vampirism totally isn’t.

I also love that the heroine of this story is a maid. She’s not noble. She’s not rich. She doesn’t have power or influence. She just ended up in a strange situation by accident. However, that also gives her a lot of room to learn and grow. I really love how she’s starting to understand more and more of the world in this book. She sees how power can be abused and she also starts to see how she can use her own talents to change the world or people’s minds.

Since this book is very political and since our heroine is not among the vampires and the rich, there’s not much action. There is some danger here and there, but most issues are solved by intelligence and wit. I can imagine that some people might get a little bored while reading, but I personally loved how all those characters, both the “good” and the “bad” guys, are forcing each other to be smarter and to always be on the tips of their toes.

I can’t wait for the next book in the series!

Een gedachte over “Netgalley Review: Elusive (Scarlet Revolution #2) – Genevieve Cogman”

Plaats een reactie