aanraders, boeken, bookish talk, Indie Auteur in de Spotlight, recensies

Review: The Soul Reaver (Myre Series #1) – Victoria Larque

Victoria Larque has quickly become one of my favorite authors. She writes the stories I want to read and she mostly writes them the way I want to read them. It never takes long before I start caring about her characters and in every book I feel all the emotions they’re feeling. I was therefore really excited when she was willing to send me a package with the four books currently published in her indie series. And I couldn’t wait to start reading the first one.

From the very first chapter I was in love. In love with the story. In love with the world. In love with the characters. This is the author’s debut book and yet it’s already so good and so well written. I like how everything seems possible in this world and yet it never feels completely unhinged. There are rules, there are structures, there is a system. But there is still a lot of room for characters to be different, unique and original.

The heroine in this story is without a doubt the star of the book. It’s easy to understand why other monsters hate her. Her power is scary, but since we’re spending so much time in her head and since we know what her power does with her and how she feels about her own power it’s also very painful to see that all those people are judging first and getting to know her later. This girl deserves the world and more and I can’t wait to see what’s waiting for her in the next book.

I also really liked that this book was not just about the romance. There is romance in this book. It’s a beautiful romance and I absolutely rooted for them. But there is also friendship. There is so much friendship in this book. Our heroine has been a loner for quite some time, but now she’s meeting people who really care about her. And it’s beautiful to see those friendships grow and develop. Even though the plot is not exactly making it easy for them.

I will certainly dive into the next book really soon!

Een gedachte over “Review: The Soul Reaver (Myre Series #1) – Victoria Larque”

Plaats een reactie