aanraders, boeken, bookish talk, Indie Auteur in de Spotlight, recensies

ARC Review: Destiny of Ashes (Supernaturals of Castle Academy #3) – Tessa Hale

Ever since I read my first Tessa Hale book, which wasn’t actually that long ago, I’ve fallen in love with her characters, her worlds, her heroines and most of all her writing style. I was therefore really happy that I got an arc for the second book in the series and even happier that I also got an arc for the last book in the series. Due to poor planning I had to wait until today to finally start reading, but today it was time to dive in.

From the very start I once more couldn’t put the book down again. I love the shorter chapters. I can always squeeze in one more and another one more and another one more. Because of the shorter chapters and the not terribly long book the pacing is also quite fast. And although that does sometimes bother me, especially because some scenes feel like they’re over way too soon, I also really like how fast I can fly through these books while enjoying myself so much.

I have to admit that in this book there were a few moments where all the heroine’s bad luck was starting to annoy me a little bit. I don’t think there are many heroines who are captured, freed, almost dead or badly hurt this often in one book. At times it feels like the heroine could have prevented herself landing in trouble and yet I always understood how she ended up in trouble too. And at least in this book she’s ready to start saving herself!

I however really loved how caring, sweet and protective her guys were. And in this book they’re also learning that they can’t always be there to protect their girl and that they can’t keep her locked up in a tower all the time. It’s nice to see them growing more confident in our heroine’s abilities and it’s even nicer to see how proud they are when our heroine is the one who eventually makes the difference in an interesting and dangerous political war.

The last chapter revealed there’s gonna be a spin-off set in this world. I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

Een gedachte over “ARC Review: Destiny of Ashes (Supernaturals of Castle Academy #3) – Tessa Hale”

Plaats een reactie